

Outreach and Engagement Committee Meeting Minutes May 21, 2024

A meeting of the Outreach and Engagement Committee of the Board of Trustees was held on May 21, 2024, in the McCormick Rooms, 4th Floor.

Committee members present: Dawn Erlandson, Chair; Jerry Janezich, Vice Chair; Alex Cirillo, Jim Grabowska, Idman Ibrahim, Christopher Richter, and Cheryl Tefer.

Other board members present: Micah Coatie, Jay Cowles, Tim Huebsch, Roger Moe, Kathy Sheran, and George Soule.

Staff present: Scott Olson, Chancellor; Noelle Hawton, Chief Marketing and Communications Officer.

Meeting materials and audio recordings are available on the Board of Trustees website.

Committee Chair Erlandson called the meeting to order at 1:59 p.m.

Agenda Item 1: Approval of the Meeting Minutes for April 16, 2024

Committee Chair Erlandson asked if there are any changes or amendments to the minutes then asked for a motion to approve. Trustee Janezich made the motion and Trustee Grabowska provided a second.

The minutes were approved unanimously.

Agenda Item 2: Marketing Update

Committee Chair Erlandson invited Noelle Hawton, Chief Marketing and Communications Officer; Barbara Hein, Director of Marketing; Audrey Bergengren, Vice President of Strategic Enrollment and Marketing, Metro State University; Brittany Tweed, Director of Financial Aid, Metro State University; and Karen Reilly, Dean of Integrated Communications, Minnesota State Community and Technical College, to present on a Marketing Update, as detailed in the meeting materials.

This being an informational item, there was no vote taken.

Agenda Item 3: Customized Contract Training Update

Committee Chair Erlandson invited Shannon Bryant, Executive Director, Workforce and Economic Development; Travette Webster, Chief Operating Officer, Learning Resource Network (LERN); Annette Parker, President, South Central College; Kristin Underwood, Director of Customized Workforce Education, South Central College; Carrie Brimhall, President, Minnesota State Community and Technical College; Craig Beytien, Vice President of Strategic Engagement, Minnesota State Community and Technical College; and John Hoffman, President, Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College, to present on a Customized Contract Training Update, as detailed in the meeting materials.

This being an informational item, there was no vote taken.

Adjournment

The committee chair adjourned the meeting at 3:37 p.m.